Belt Colours

The ITF ranking system consists of six solid color belts; white, yellow, green, blue, red, and black with all Belt Colours having a meaning.

White 10th Kup
Signifies innocence, as that of the beginning student who has no previous knowledge of Tae Kwon-Do.

White Belt with Yellow Stripe 9th Kup

Yellow 8th Kup
Signifies earth, from which a plant sprouts root as the Tae Kwon-Do foundation is being laid.

Yellow Belt with Green Stripe 7th Kup

Green 6th Kup
Signifies the plant’s growth as Taekwon-Do skills begin to develop.

Green Belt with Blue Stripe 5th Kup

Blue 4th Kup
Signifies heaven, toward which the plant matures into a towering tree as training in Tae Kwon-Do progresses.

Blue Belt with Red Stripe 3rd Kup

Red 2nd Kup
Signifies danger, cautioning the student to exercise control and warning the opponent to stay away.

Red Belt with Black Stripe 1st Kup

Black 1st Dan
Opposite to white, therefore signifying maturity and proficiency in Tae Kwon-Do. Also indicates the wearer’s imperviousness to darkness and fear